DIY

DIY: Days of the Week and Weather Chart

I love crafting and DIY-ing stuff since I was a child. I remember afternoons where I would watch Martha Stewart on Lifestyle Network when I was in grade school. I also made creative letters when it was popular during my childhood. Ang saya nun! Receiving crafted letters and design. When I became a mom, the only time I am into crafting is during Enzo’s birthday and on his photo albums. Now that he is in his second year and fast approaching his third, I started crafting again for him. My first project is a  Days of the Week and Weather Chart.

Got this idea from Child Development Center in UP Diliman where I am currently taking my masters for Family Life and Child Development. It is part of the preschool classes and they call it meeting time. I followed the same concept so Enzo can have an idea about days of the week and the weather. I just expose him to it so he can grasp the idea slowly.

Here’s our meeting time wall at home:

image

Materials:
Colored paper
Printed days of the week
Plastic cover
Scotch tape
Folder

In choosing the font, makes sure its simple and not so decorative so they can be familiar with the letter easily. Make sure its also clear so they would not confuse the letters.

Weather Chart

image

For the weather part I made use of felt cloth to show the sun, stormy, and cloudy. It is a good thing we only have wet and dry season in the PH so I only made a few felt toys. Hihi

Materials:
Felt cloth
DMC
Pencil
Optional: weather patterns
 
I just drew the clouds and the sun freestyle. Did not use a template cause I was too excited to sew one. I used some cotton from an old pillow as stuffing inside. It made learning weather easier for Enzo. We also make it a point to say it aloud everyday. 

Will be sharing more DIY every week hopefully hihi. Btw, let’s connect more hihi. Here are my
Instagram and Twitter official accounts, hope to see you there!:)

Leave a Reply

